What would you prefer in camping, natural way, or with portable generator?

Roybrew

I have no knowledge of inverters and things like that. They have been improved greatly over the years. I would love to have a small and quiet generator, but it wouldn't get used enough. I usually pack a couple of small power supply things for my phone. I need to learn more about inverters, generators and stuff like that.

Northern Dancer

...I stay will solar now - there have been a lot of great improvements in the technology. I'm all for quiet too. Having said that, it really depends on your personal wants and needs. The few people who manage to see my set up at close hand are aghast at the comfort and practical aspects of my basecamp. I do it because I can. Keeping in mind I tend to be out for longer stretches than most.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

I always make the same suggestions - never buy unless on sale, do your homework and do a lot of comparison with manufacturers and prices, check out the consumer's reports, ask people who own one and their experience - then if at all possible use someone else's credit card to purchase the same and don't tell the wife.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

Which reminds me - I picked up a used Columbia Ice Crest tent in excellent condition today for $5.72, taxes included. I debated all of 26 and 1/2 seconds to purchase it on sight. It's up in the back yard now - perfect condition. I need to take "Roybrew" along with me to protect me against myself.

Roybrew

Holy cow!! What a deal! I would love to come up that way. I'm always interested in seeing other places, to see how much different the air smells, how different the weather is, even the different foliage. I do love the area I'm in, and I enjoy each season of it.