Courses of Self Taught?

OpenAir

Have you done any survival courses, as a part of an organisation or by your own choice? Or are your survival skills all self taught, perhaps from books or other reading?

southerngal

All of ours have been self taught so far and we have a long way to go. We have gotten some books, watched some youtube videos, and found lots of good websites online. After we are pretty confident about how something should be done we go out and try it.

northernbushape

The Jeepist
I am trained, mentored, and self-taught.

I practice a lot too - daily in some form or another. It could be anything from small projects to simply finding a better way to pack my gear, but I hone my skills always.

hummingbird

I've read tons of books and I'm always watching videos online about wilderness survival. My father taught me how to fish and hunt when I was a child growing up. I don't hunt now but I could if I had too. As far as other skills, I pretty much taught myself.

RoughRider

Well, during an emergency last night (a neighbor's house caught on fire), I learned I can no longer run. I can walk all day but I don't appreciate the fact that time has decided to rob me of a valuable skill. I am determined this summer to try to get that skill back again. As for survival skills, my father taught me long ago to survive in the wild and to hunt, fish and trap. I could make do if I had to but I hope not to have to in my lifetime.:tinysmile_fatgrin_t

lovetohunt

Self taught here too, although I would love to find a course on Wilderness survival. I think it would be a blast, hard work too. I have watched many shows and read books too.

Luvoutdoors

Most of our survival skills are self taught although my husband already knew how to hunt, fish, process animals, and set traps and snares. Everything else like building fires and shelters we have learned the hard way.

outdoorlover001