Survival Experiences

Telna

Have you ever had to struggle to survive in the wilderness? Were you prepared? How has this affected the way you prepare for heading out into the wilderness now?

oldmangunner

I can not say that I have had some of the other experiences that others have had. I did take part in a search for a missing hiker, it was hard but I knew not as bad as it was for the hiker. Luckily they did find him. He is alive thanks to knowing some survival skills.

southerngal

I have never been in a situation where I didn't have at least some of the things I needed to get by. I hope that I have learned enough skills that if I were to find myself in that kind of situation I would be prepared.

Grandpa

Two 16 yr old kids, deep in an Idaho wilderness elk hunting. We had left our camp about 3 am and hiked 4 miles to a pass we had intended to watch. A severe cold front moved in with temps dropping from 80 degrees the day before to 0 degrees by mid afternoon the next day, leaving 2 feet of snow where we were. Eleven hunters died in that storm. But us two kids were too dumb to know we were in trouble. We just knew the elk hunt was over and dug in to wait the storm out. We made it back to camp after the snow quit none the worse for wear. I guess our Dad's had trained us well.

Forester

Grandpa, that was quite an experience. I'm not sure if I can consider any of my experiences as survival but I have been to a couple of camping/bivouac where they just threw us out in the jungle to hunt for food. I just don't know if I can manage to do it in a real-life situation, though.

oldsarge

Grandpa, that was quite an experience. I'm not sure if I can consider any of my experiences as survival but I have been to a couple of camping/bivouac where they just threw us out in the jungle to hunt for food. I just don't know if I can manage to do it in a real-life situation, though.
Sounds like a fun time to me Forester!

safn1949