Kayak

clewand550

I am looking for a kayak. I have borrowed my neighbor's kayak in the past. It was a Town and Country Kayak. I don't know anything about them. I would like to buy a kayak for myself instead of using my neighbor's all the time. I'm not a very good swimmer and I am a beginner at kayaking. I would like to buy one that will not tip easily. Can someone please suggest a good kayak that I should look for that would be for a beginner and one that doesn't tip easier?

ppine

Forester
I would suggest some minimal instruction so you develp some confindence. Being able to brace a kayak will help you realize that you really don't want one of those short, wide slow wash-tub affairs. Length equals speed. I like a beam (width) around 24 inches or less.

Last edited:

wvbreamfisherman

More precisely, greater length for a given width roughly equates to higher speeds. (Applies to any displacement hull (Canoes and rowboats, for example- not for planing hulls).

Hull shape also plays a role in determining speed and stability.

jason

fear no beer
I am looking for a kayak. I have borrowed my neighbor's kayak in the past. It was a Town and Country Kayak. I don't know anything about them. I would like to buy a kayak for myself instead of using my neighbor's all the time. I'm not a very good swimmer and I am a beginner at kayaking. I would like to buy one that will not tip easily. Can someone please suggest a good kayak that I should look for that would be for a beginner and one that doesn't tip easier?
I would improve the swimming and take some kayak lessons. I would also rent various different kayaks and see what you like.

That all being said, I enjoy my Malibu Stealth 14. Here I am, picking it up, after my safety course. First time standing up. Outdoor Basecamp Forums - jason's Album: 3 Sister Springs / Kings Bay - Picture A great birthday present. Since then, I've gotten a lot better at standing up, and can do it with ease. That time took me 5-10 minutes to get up.