Wood Stoves

FireBuilder

Does anyone here use a wood stove to heat their home?

As a lover of campfires I thought wood stoves would be a piece of cake. It took me the longest time to figure out that wood stove fires are not at all like campfires.

dinosaur

troublemaker
I've been using wood burners for thirty-four years in four different homes. The first three were an assist. The one I have is in my cabin and is the primary heat source.

CozInCowtown

I don't but was raised on wood heat.
"A wood fire will warm you up twice" was the motto of my father growing up,"once when you cut it, second time when you burn it".
I am a city boy now with central heat & air.
DC

John13np

I used to have a wood stove in my last house. I loved it. Of course in the mornings when its 0 degrees out it's never fun getting up at 5 am to start a fire :p

dinosaur

troublemaker
I don't but was raised on wood heat.
"A wood fire will warm you up twice" was the motto of my father growing up,"once when you cut it, second time when you burn it".
I am a city boy now with central heat & air.
DC
My Daddy said the same thing. Sorry to hear you are a city boy now, Cowtown. Don't get soft. You may need all your skills someday.

And, John, how long do you sleep? My stove will keep burning for nine hours properly banked and damped.

John13np

I didn’t have that great of a wood stove. Definitely keep us warm, but it would not last for more than 4 or 5 hours

Erwin

Growing up we had a wood stove and we sure did a lot of cutting! Ours stayed warm for about 7 hours then it would start to cool off.

Rookie

My stove will keep burning for nine hours properly banked and damped.
Ours will not keep burning all night, but there are plenty of hot coals left to restart it quickly the next morning. If I'm heading out early and don't get to it until after lunch, I need to start again from scratch.